Dear Dairy: Unskilled labour

With an exam today, and not having ever seen the syllabus ever before, I still was possessed by this desire to have a clean floor and clean bed late last night. (To attempt to clear out the towering pile of books that cover my table is an impossible task without a lot of delicate balancing, time and concentrated effort. And what's the point? It'll come back to the same state within two weeks. Not enough shelves, too many books.)

I am not a messy person, I just have so much clutter- my room is full of things, possessions and objects – someday I have to try this idea of 'if you haven't used it in six months, throw it', it'll clear out most of my room – it's chore to clear all surfaces and actually get down to cleaning. I'm also the type of person that when I start doing something, I'm obsessive and meticulous about it – hence cleaning = purging the entire room.

For all this, in my three years at college, I had never learnt to sweep and mop correctly. All those people who call sweepers and mop-ers and other kinds of bai-s unskilled labourers don't know what they are talking about. Efficient, quick and complete sweeping is achieved by holding the broom at a certain angle (almost parallel to the floor) and moving it is wide arc. An engineering student would have told you that, after all, it's simple logic, but it would not surprise you to know that most engineering students don't both to clean their rooms, leave alone calculating the perfect angle to use a broom at.

Then there is the technique in squeezing the water out of the cloth, using the correct texture of cloth (I strongly recommend you do NOT use turkey towels as mop-cloth material. Excellent cleaning agents they may be, but you'll ruin your back. My back still has spasms, and I'm only 19.) and the correct way to handle the thing… As for dealing with the wayward hair that litters the floor! Well, I'm glad that I won't have to keep doing this. Or I hope I won't.

13 responses to “Dear Dairy: Unskilled labour

  1. I thought it would rain and ur exams would be cancelled….:)…probably you would want the same now

  2. It is raining… pouring cats and dogs. Since when did VIT stop exams for something as trivial as a flood?
    Intha weather le I should be sitting on the bed, curled up with a book. And acceptable second is to be online.
    But during an exam konjam over.

  3. exam in october? university or college? …college na bunk adi..university na padi…

  4. Internals. Going on right now – literally. Contributes 50% to my overall grade, so can’t bunk the exam… though I did bunk class this morning.
    Will bunk tomorrow too, no mood attend the last workign day.

    Comp lab, so have access to the net if you change a few settings and stuff like that.

  5. I know exactly what you mean…I hate washing clothes myself…we have a laundry on campus, but they positively maul our clothes…

  6. Nice blog, by the way…me first time here, but I’ll be back…

  7. This post has been removed by the author.

  8. the Monk~ Thanks for dropping by on my blog, and the compliment. The washerwoman does ruin clothes, but anything is better than cleaning them myself!!

  9. If I’d had a washerwoman in college maybe I wouldn’t have gone a whole semester without washing my bed’s sheets. Ewww, the thought of it now absolutely grosses me out.

  10. ethellam konjam over a therila ??

  11. clm ~ A whole semester!? *eyes big*

    karthigeyan ~ yellame nallave over. but that’s ok, this is me we’re talking about.

  12. Sounds like a lot of fun

Leave a Reply

