You

She sits on the bed, her knees drawn to her chest, a writing pad with a sheets pinned to it lying next to her.

On it are careless doodles and a careful semeblance of the profile of a face. She stares into the distance, her thoughts obviously somewhere else, and shakes ehr head to glance at the sheet again. Emotions roil inside her, as she searches for the words to express her feeling. That tumult that … she has not succeeded in expressing, not ever, not yet. Still, she takes another shot at it, setting her pen on that not-quite-clear sheet and penning the first word.

You

You are entrenched within me
Immovable and irremovable
At least in the here and now
As permanent as flesh can be.

This warm heart-blood
That pulses through my veins
And throbs through my pain
Suffuses my being…

All laced by the drug of you
That thought that holds me
Steady through the day and nights
Vision that I see through time

You are entrenched within me
Immovable and irremovable
At least in the here and now
As permanent as flesh can be.

Her face closes with concentration as her hands move swiftly. What is on them? Perhaps given a mirror she would have known, but I do not. They may not have been perfect words, but they flow now, in a smooth stream, the things she has not said. When done, she draws a line underneath it, lays it down and closes her eyes.

Not even this was enough to say what she felt.
Not even this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Note: No, not RL.

27 responses to “You

  1. Its beautiful.
    Reminds me of “The Wuthering Heights”.
    When Catherine says “I am Heathcliff”, she realizes that the basis of her identity necessitates the existense of Heathcliff.
    Sometimes there is no ‘one’ without the ‘other’.

  2. loved it no bounds!
    especially this: . . .the drug of you

    simply exquisite!

  3. the drug of you! my favourite too, what can i say?

  4. wriju ~ Not worthy of being compared to Wuthering Heights… but thank you! People in love would agree with you on the “one” and “other”, some religions would… but there are some who say they are the one and the same.

    ashish gupta ~ thank you for dropping by my blog! I’m glad you liked it..

    chloe ~ Wow, you made it! thanks! πŸ˜€

    the monk ~ πŸ˜€ Thank you!

  5. Wow. Very, very intense. Could I keep this somewhere?

    MTT

  6. MTT ~ lol, long time since I called you that! Imagine my surpise when I see “MTT publishing” there. *g* Sure you can save it someplace. πŸ˜€

  7. good blog, also see our blog http://www.desigrid.com a very addictive blog,if u like tell it to others or else tell us, check out,
    bye,
    usdesi.

  8. Loved the poem. Well done. You have a way with words, as I am sure many have already told you. So I will shut up now.
    Superb poem, though. I had to say it twice. πŸ™‚

  9. arun totikonda ~ Very desi blog. Thanks for coming to mine.

    zydar, oh you nutcase! *hugs* You have a way of makign me think my poems rock the world.

  10. I knew someone once, who’s very voice I would refer to as oxygen for my soul. But my soul still breathes without the aforementioned oxygen.. nay it still sings.

    So I would definitely think twice before I wrote or said something to the effect of

    “You are entrenched within me
    Immovable and irremovable
    At least in the here and now
    As permanent as flesh can be”

    But I guess thats the advantage of fiction, ideality and intensity of emotions can be taken to unreal extremes. Though one of my fav writers once said…

    “The truth is stranger than fiction, besides being more to the point”
    -Edgar Allan Poe

    P.S: Kini – OWN mind! brilliant, had never thought of that.

    P.P.S: Have updated my blog.

  11. kini ~ “As permanent as flesh can be” What do you think that means? Different things to different people. To a biologist – well, the flesh grows out and is replaced every few days. So yeah, either this writer is promising forever, or she’s saying it’ll be gone soon. Depends on interpretation really. πŸ™‚ You tell me why it was a promise of forever for you. (Ask me, and I’ll say it’s because you’re a romantic at heart)
    PS1 ~ eh! πŸ˜€ I am brilliant, what can I say?
    PS2 ~ Going. Thanks for the heads up. πŸ˜›

    Brownie ~ Real Life.

  12. Hard to believe it ain’t RL, really! Must be based on something, right? Don’t tell me you just wrote this out of the blue!

  13. just gorgeous!! really…must show my mom!! my fav like the rest…”drug of you”
    if not RL, wat then?

  14. Beautiful poem…

  15. knock knock?
    hellooooooo!

    reached college kya?
    all the best for days ahead@ College πŸ™‚

  16. Noetic License ~ (can I shorten that to noetic?) It is not RL. And as for how I write.. pick up a strand of feeling at any given moment and FEEL it like it’s all I’m feeling. Basically, exaggeration.

    S ~ something I felt for a while that I blew out of proportion by letting my imagination take over. What if…. It was a what if.

    Karthigeyan, Neon ~thanks

    Ashish Gupta ~ Han, college me hi hoon. Thanks. πŸ˜€ Exams!!

    Vishnu ~ Thanks for dropping by my blog. πŸ™‚

  17. Hey that’s a wonderful piece of work!so sublime it touches the innermost depth of a person who’s in love.keep it up!

  18. this is really intense..

  19. ashmi ~ Thank you! For both the compliment and dropping by on my blog!

    vibha ~ πŸ˜€ I guess it is.

    Roman ~ Whatever for?

  20. “They may not have been perfect words, but they flow now, in a smooth stream, the things she has not said. When done, she draws a line underneath it, lays it down and closes her eyes.”

    Beautiful. I’m gonn blog-roll ya!

  21. incognito, the favour is returned. And thank you!!

Leave a Reply

