Good things happen.

  • I just got published in a journal. I am so proud I could burst. Not so proud that I’d show you the paper, which isn’t much… but there is it. The First.
  • I went to Rome, and the only really remarkable things here are the ruins, the museums, the ice-cream and the fact that I was with dad. If you are ever in Rome – or Italy – do not miss the Gelato. If you can find the stractiatella (I’m sure I spelled that wrong) flavour, go for it. It is absolutely O-heaven.
  • I have tried – quite a few times – to express the shiney-eyed overwhelmed overawed feeling that standing in the middle of the ruins of the Rome. I’ve failed. I’m suddenly convinced that I can say something, so I will give it a shot sometime. Soon.
  • I’m in Bangalore, a beautiful city with altogether too much traffic, and in IISc, where the building ooze age, wisdom, learning and geeky fun. I feel at home, in love, and starry-eyed despite the fact that I’ve plugged in a good seven months here. I’m glad. I’m also violently homesick for people.
  • It’s Birthday celebration at midnight. Magic.

Edit: Not my birthday. πŸ™‚

10 responses to “Good things happen.

  1. Okay enough reasons to treat me this Sunday then.

    Happy B’day and have a blast… About the paper, feel happy for ya! πŸ˜€

  2. Not my birthday, fool. πŸ™‚ And you the one who did the orkut-birthday-test-thingummie.

  3. Its funny you left that comment about blackberries on my post, I actually got one yesterday. At the position I was in at the time, bb’s were a status symbol and I just wanted one. I have one now and I am pretty excited. Thanks for reading.

  4. How am I supposed to know. Like we both have studied together. And you girls never put your DOBs on social profiles. At least be happy I wished you πŸ˜›

    And yes mentioning about orkut-b’day-thingums some bloke thought it was my B’day and got me a guitar… and look at you, you are not even treating me… shame on you! πŸ˜›

    In another 3 hours I am heading to B’lore. Will come there and bug you …

    Thanks for the blogroll link…

  5. congrats on the paper! πŸ™‚

    and gelato! gelato! gelato! gelato! πŸ˜›

    I have tried – quite a few times – to express the shiney-eyed overwhelmed overawed feeling that standing in the middle of the ruins of the Rome.

    TouchΓ©!

  6. Hey Congratulations about the paper…
    Hope I can go to Rome someday too πŸ™‚

  7. Rome is awesome, gelato’s lousy. IISc is neat but needs maintenace.

    Hope your birthday was good.

  8. hopped over from the monk’s to your old blog to here…and when i saw bioinformatics, i just HAD to soeak up πŸ™‚ you doing a phD at IISc?
    i went there for a phD interview this June but told the panel (molecular biophysics unit) to stuff it since i wast interested in structural studies on proteins…v assembly line robot-like that be πŸ˜‰ naturally they displayed their promptness in replying by showing me d door πŸ˜› altho i have heard MBU is one of the best units there and d neurophysiology lab did seem interesting πŸ™‚
    if you don’t mind my extraordinary curiosity, may i ask where you are placed and what research are you engaged in?
    P.S: review of articles is such a gr8 idea…hardly see proper discussions or theorising in biology anywhere…something new thanks to your post πŸ™‚
    P.P.S: you write very well…and we need good authors in science πŸ˜‰

  9. Mark – You’re welcome.

    sagaro – my birthday (if not year) is on every social website/community that I am a part of. Thanku for the wishes, anyway. I’ll store them up for a half a year… How was your bangalore trip?

    suraksha – yeah, thanks; yes; indeed.

    wriju – the thailand trip seems to be interesting too. but yes, you should go to Rome. it is a city that is so steeped in history that they live in both the past and the present.

    Arthur Quiller Coach – Yes; to each his own; I suppose so. Thank you, but the birthday wasn’t mine. πŸ™‚

    someone – no, I am working as a research/project assistant on the structural biology of proteins and personally find it intriguing, challenging and all the other cliche terms people use and usually don’t mean.
    I think that MBU is one of the best units there is. You can actually go and see the place where GN Ramachandran came up with the Ramachandran Plot. If you are interested in neurophysiology, you should probably look at NCBS (National Centre of Biological Sciences). They have Siddique.
    Thank you for your compliments. πŸ™‚

  10. @Sarani:
    That was long long back. But your comment has come in time for my next trip. I will be at B’lore on September 16th… will tell you how it was when I get back πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

