Relics ahoy!

It’s a bit morbid to hold on to the past. I always expect the smell of corpses and filthy clothing to waft past me when I start feeling sorry for myself, or start missing the wrong things or people. That isn’t to say that there haven’t been happy times – that’s what my giant stack of photo albums are for, diving into the happy times.

It when the sadness, guilt, unhappiness and sheer loneliness blindsides you on an otherwise perfectly normal day from a past you thought was buried that you need to start thinking about getting that shovel out and beginning an excavation.

Who knows? It might turn out to be prettier than it seems. And even if it isn’t – well, at least now I know what’s there.

6 responses to “Relics ahoy!

  1. 🙂 I like the way you’ve described this. I always know I’m in for a bout of nostalgia when I dig into my stash of old letters and pictures. After a while, you realize you’re just being a masochist by hanging on to some of those scraps of paper and inflicting more pain on yourself that you should. That’s when you know that it’s time to clean out your closet 😛

  2. Its all about moving on..and until one has experienced the “not so good time”, one can not enjoy the good times… keep the best/good things close to u…they will act as energizers and get rid of those immediately which makes u feel sad…have good times and a very happy new year!

  3. Hey camphor,

    saw your awesome post to help Bio-science student at edulix. Am also a BIo-science applicant for Fall 09. was wondering if you could help me, as i had a couple of questions. i promise not to bore you with too many q’s. id really appreciate your help.
    Please do drop me your gmail at anjanaraster2@gmail.com (i dont use yahoo im afraid).
    much obliged. thankyou.
    Anjana.

  4. Just wanted to let you know I’ve been over here reading. Gosh, it’s been a long time. I’m kind of trying to avoid the familiar haunts as I struggle finally to get over the love that passed me by. Not that I can completely prevent myself going to look if she has been there. *kicks self*

  5. Anbazhagan Ramasamy

    Been reading your blog posts… God,you have this effortless mastery in expressing your thoughts through beautiful words…

  6. well… seems like you’ve been bogged down by your own past…. guilty perhaps as you’ve mentioned… or that loneliness from being the traveller who ventures into the unknown ocean expecting the greater unknown….

    As for the photo albums, they are the records of the happier times being etched into print… i’ve never seen people who would prefer being photographed during the not so good days…

    Anyways, life like a pandora box is known for its very surprises…

    and after all that ‘diving’ and ‘digging’, if you still smell of corpses and filthy clothing, it simply means you’ve to go and urgently have a BATH !

Leave a Reply

